Council Members

Christopher Hemmerdinger
Mr Hemmerdinger will serve an extra 1-year term due to COVID-19

Chris studied Optometry at the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology, graduating in 1994. After qualifying as an optometrist Chris studied Medicine at Manchester University, graduating in 2001.  Following jobs in Neurosurgery and Emergency medicine Chris trained in Ophthalmology at the Royal Bolton Hospital and St Paul’s eye unit, Liverpool.
Chris was appointed as consultant at Warrington in August 2011 and in 2017 moved to Macclesfield. His clinical work comprises general adult ophthalmology and specialist clinics in glaucoma and external eye disease. 


Andrena McElvanney
Co-Presdident - National Representative

Miss Andrena McElvanney is a consultant specialising in ocular surface disease, therapeutic contact lenses and eyelid disorders. Special interests and treatments include Ocular surface disease, contact lens related pathology, therapeutic contact lenses, eyelid disorders, dry eyes, watery eyes, allergic eye disease.

Fook Chang Lam

Hon Secretary

MBChB (Hons), MRCP, FRCOphth

Full time consultant eye surgeon with more than 10 years ophthalmology experience. Special interest in cataracts, corneal surgery and glaucoma. Extensive subspecialist training from four fellowships in: Anterior Segment Fellowship at Sussex Eye Hospital, Cornea and Refractive Surgery at Queen Victoria Hospital, Advanced Corneal Surgery and Eye Banking at Netherlands Institute for Innovative Ocular Surgery and Glaucoma at Moorfields Eye Hospital and Sussex Eye Hospital.

Fiona Carley

Council Member

Qualified in Medicine from Manchester University in 1992. Obtained FRCOpth (Fellowship of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists, London) in 1997. Undertook Fellowship in Cornea/External Disease in Manchester and Leeds before being appointed as a Consultant Ophthalmologist in Oldham in 2003. In 2006 I was subsequently appointed as a Consultant Ophthalmologist at the Manchester Royal Eye Hospital. Medical Advisor to the Manchester CTS Eye Bank and committee member of Ocular Advisory Groups for both the College (OTAG) and Organ and Donation Transplantation Service (OTAG).

Obeda Kailani
Council Member

Obeda is a Specialist Registrar in Ophthalmology at Moorfields St.George’s in London.  He read medicine at Guy’s, King’s and St.Thomas’ School of Medicine.  He received a scholarship to undergo research at King’s College London during his Bachelor’s degree in Physiology and graduated with honours in 2007.  He completed academic foundation training at the Royal Free Hospital and received Merits from University College London for his efforts in teaching during this time.  He has trained in Ophthalmology at King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, Epsom and St.Helier University Hospital and Moorfields St.George’s Hospital.  His subspecialist interests include corneal and external eye disease and glaucoma.  When not in the clinic he enjoys a variety of team sports, holds an Instructor rank in Karate PaSaRyu and is a certified PADI Diver.


Sophie Jones

New Council Member

Miss Sophie Jones is a Consultant ophthalmic surgeon specialising in anterior segment and trauma at Kings College Hospital, London, appointed in 2014.  Miss Jones undertook Fellowship training at Moorfields and Kings College and completed Higher Specialist training with the London deanery.  She furthered her research experience at Great Ormond Street Hospital, the Institute of Child Health and the Institute of Ophthalmology and was awarded MD(Res) by University College London in 2011.

Her clinical and research interests include external eye disease, collagen cross-linking and outcomes following lamellar corneal transplantation.  In addition, her current position at a major trauma centre supports her clinical interest in visual rehabilitation following trauma.

Parwez Hossain

New Council Member

Prof. Hossain is an Associate Professor in ophthalmology at the University of Southampton and Consultant Ophthalmologist at Eye Unit, University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. He is Associate Editor for ‘Eye’, the scientific journal for the Royal College Ophthalmologists and an NHS Bronze Clinical Excellence Award holder.

Parwez qualified in medicine from Aberdeen University and trained in ophthalmology in Aberdeen, Nottingham, Leicester and Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, Miami, USA and sub-specialises in cornea and external eye disease. Prof. runs a busy tertiary referral centre for the Southampton Eye Unit, Southampton University Hospital NHS Trust and take care of a diverse range of corneal diseases. Clinical expertise – Cornea, cataract and external eye disease.

Ourania Frangouli TPD.JPEG

Ourania Frangouli

New Council Member

Miss Ourania Frangouli is a substantive Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon at the Western Eye Hospital, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust. She has a subspecialist interest in glaucoma, cataract and paediatric ophthalmology. She completed her Basic and Higher Ophthalmic Training in the London Deanery based at Moorfields Eye Hospital and awarded UK CCT in 2011 and completed two clinical and surgical fellowships in Moorfields Eye Hospital in Paediatric Ophthalmology & Strabismus and in Adult and Paediatric Glaucoma. She holds the title of Member and Fellow of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists (MRCOphth and FRCOphth) and is included in the Specialist Register for Ophthalmology of the General Medical Council. Her research interests and PhD thesis involve the anterior chamber angle and keratoconus.